Prior 1994, there existed Ministère de la Jeunesseet des Mouvements Associatifs, (MIJEUMA). At the time, culture had not yet received the much needed consideration because it was perceived not as a manifestation of the identity of Rwandans, but rather as a manifestation of the monarchy that the regime of the time regarded as the evil.

After the genocide of 1994, the department received several successive missions based on the then identified priorities.

In 1997 the Department of Culture, which was in the Ministry of Education was transferred to the Ministry of Youth. This department was responsible for organizing dignified burials of the bodies of genocide victims and all activities relating to safeguarding the memory of the genocide among other responsibilities.

Later on, the Ministry of youth was yet given another mandate; vocational training and adopted the name of Ministère de la Jeunesse Sport, Culturel et Formation Profesionnel (MIJESCAFOP)

In 2002, the vocational training mandate was given a Secretariat of State in the Ministry of Civil Service and Labor and the ministry adopted yet another name; Ministère de la Jeunesse, Sport et Culture (MIJESPOC) or Ministry of Youth, Sports and culture in English.

In 2008, the Ministry of Youth, Sports and Culture was split into two separate ministries; Ministry of Youth ‘MINIYOUTH” and Ministry of Sports and Culture" MINISPOC ".

In May 2011, the two ministries were again merged into one ministry and once again separated in December 2011. MINISPOC was given a mandate of developing and supporting the implementation of policies and strategies concerning the promotion of a winning culture in various sports disciplines and to promote culture as foundation to the development of our country.

The ministry oversees 5 agencies that support the implementation of policies related to the mandate of the ministry. These institutions are;

(i) Institute of National Museums of Rwanda,

(ii) National Library and Archives

(iii) The National Commission for the Fight Against Genocide,

(iv) Rwandan Academy of Language and Culture and

(v) The Chancellor of Heroes, National Orders and Decorations of honor.